الملكية الفكرية : هي حقوق امتلاك جهة ما لأعمال الفكر الإبداعية أي الاختراعات والمصنفات الأدبية والفنية والرموز والأسماء والصور والنماذج والرسوم الصناعية، التي تقوم بتأليفها أو إنتاجها أو تنتقل إلى ملكيتها لاحقاً.
وتنقسم الملكية الفكرية إلى فئتين هما الملكية الصناعية التي تشمل الاختراعات (البراءات) والعلامات التجارية والرسوم والنماذج الصناعية والعلامات المميزة للمنشأ(البيانات الجغرافي، تسميات المنشأ) من جهة وحق المؤلف الذي يضم المصنفات الأدبية والفنية كالروايات والقصائد والمسرحيات والأفلام والألحان الموسيقية والرسوم واللوحات والصور الشمسية والتماثيل والتصميمات الهندسية من جهة أخرى وتتضمن الحقوق المجاورة لحق المؤلف حقوق فناني الأداء المتعلقة بأدائهم وحقوق منتجي التسجيلات الصوتية المرتبطة بتسجيلاتهم وحقوق هيئات الإذاعة المتصلة ببرامج الراديو والتلفزيون و في السنوات الاخيرة اضيفت البرمجيات و علوم الانترنت و ما يتفرع عنها .
جامعة سليمان الدولية تهتم بالملكية الفكرية لذلك اعتمدت مركزاً خاصاً لتسجيل الملكية الفكرية و ذلك لحمايتها وفق للقوانين الدولية و القوانين المحلية و ربطت حق الملكية الفكرية لصاحبه و اعتمدت على لجان المتابعة للحقوق المسجلة و شبكة المحامين عبر القارات .
الملكية الفكرية تشمل حقوق المؤلف و الحقوق المجاورة له اضافة الى الملكية التجارية و الصناعية.

Intellectual Property: The right to own a business for creative thought, ie, literary and artistic inventions, works, symbols, names, images, designs and industrial drawings, which it composes, produces or transmits to its ownership.
Intellectual property is divided into two categories: industrial property, which includes inventions, trademarks, industrial designs, originals, geographical names, and copyright which includes literary and artistic works such as novels, poems, plays, films, music, drawings, paintings, On the other hand, rights related to copyright include the rights of performers relating to their performance, the rights of producers of phonograms related to their recordings, the rights of broadcasting organizations related to radio programs, TV and in recent years have been added software and the science of the Internet and its branches.
The IPU has adopted a special center for the registration of intellectual property in order to protect it in accordance with international laws and local laws. It has linked intellectual property rights to its owners and has relied on follow-up committees for registered rights and the network of lawyers across continents.
Intellectual property includes copyright and related rights as well as commercial and industrial property